How did you survive on apprenticeship wages?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reidebot

Down the Rabbit hole.
Reaction score
How did you survive on apprenticeship wages? How did you keep things cost effective?

I had two jobs when I was an apprentice :). I also didn't go out much haha! I've always been a saver not a spender so I've only bought necessary things. I always thought when I'm successful, that's when I can buy holidays and nice things :). Hope that helps.

I'm really glad I'm a vegan. At least foods cheap xD but bills scare me

Haha yes it is difficult but you will reap the rewards when your fully qualified! :)
I used all my wages on my car and bills :) and anything left over was for savings in case of an emergency :)

Living off apprentice wages has made me really good with money now! It sounds ridiculous but back in the day when I started off on £45 a week (honestly, there was no NMW back then!) but I still went out, had driving lessons and had to give my dad £5 housekeeping! My tips got me through and I also took on an evening job as a waitress in Pizza Hut! It was probably easier then as we had no mobiles so selfies weren't a thing and it didn't matter if you wore the same outfit more than once! Even to this day, I put my tips aside and use them for treats like mani and pedi, dog grooming bills etc.
I'm always amazed how much people spend in costa coffee on a daily basis, that can easily add up to a couple of hundred a month if you grab a coffee and a snack each day. Bringing your own lunch to work can keep costs down a lot.

We don't get tips here. I get $15 an hour at a salon as a casual salon assistant (I'm paying for my own apprenticeship) and am doing 2 courses (hair and photography). Whats NMW?