Lynton finance

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sandhu

Reaction score
Hello there.
I’m accepted for Lynton finance but the deposit is more than initially quoted by the company. It double £8k plus vat but they will be providing free products Nd training. I am not sure if this is the right investment for my business. Any input is appreciated, machine is 40k but I will be paying monthly £850plus vat and currently run a successful business by rent a room in salon Clapham junction

Last edited:
Hi Sandhu

Great to hear your business is doing well.

I haven’t made an investment as significant as this in my own business - in part because I also work as a management consultant and I have seen many salon owners end up working for nothing, just to pay for finance and landlord costs.

My first thoughts are as follows:

• Do you have an established client base purchasing treatments at £100-£700? Does this price point fit with your client base and marketing funnel? Are you already getting these sorts of enquiries?
  • Do you offer any other technical treatments? Are your clients comfortable with these procedures and the costs involved?
  • Is your customer base big enough to sustain these treatment costs? For example, can you sell two to three treatment courses a month for three years, as this is what is usually required to cover the cost of financing a machine?
  • As well as assessing demand you also need to think about the operational side of the business. How will your newly trained staff gain experience? Who will support and guide them? Staff usually need a minimum of 6 months mentoring and experience before operating independently.

Assuming you have sufficient demand for these services, you also need to think about the investment in your business. Is this the right time and can your business afford this sort of investment?