Moving from renting beauty room to renting own shop-advice please

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joelle

Reaction score
Hi all, I hope you've all had a lovely bank holiday weekend :)

I'm a fully qualified Beauty Therapist with 9 years experience of renting a room in a salon. I have a good amount of clients, i'm busy a lot of the time but not always.

I do have a few issues with the salon I'm renting from but that isn't really significant here.

I've always wanted to have my own place and recently a shop has become available to rent.

I really want to take it but I'm worried about it not working.

I know that most, if not all, of my current clients would move with me and would probably prefer the new salon as its on ground floor.

I am thinking that I could fit out and rent part of it out to a hairdresser, but not sure what I'd have to do there.

Also at first I may be there on my own without a receptionist while I build it up but not sure how that would work!

I'd love to know what you think and if you could share your experiences with me if you've successfully done this yourself.

Thanks,
Jo

Hi Jo,
DO IT!

Especially if you have issues with the salon you're currently in.
I've just done this and gone totally alone and made an office let into a beauty room/salon. It's just big enough for what I need.
It's not a problem, but after being used to a receptionist taking care of my clients while I finish with a previous one I just have to put a sign on my door stating "treatment in progress until ......" So they don't knock/try to come in when I'm already busy with a client. Before I started I contacted all my clients to say now that i work alone in just the beauty room with no real waiting area could they please be prompt for appointments and if they come early there's a cafe in our block to use while they wait.