Teaching Beauty Therapy

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chazolate

Reaction score
Hi,
I have just finished NVQ Level 2 Beauty Therapy and I am going on to do Level 3. I started out getting some work experience and now I am doing some paid work. I am really enjoying working in a salon and it is definitely what I want to do for now. However I have been thinking in the long term I might want to go into teaching Beauty Therapy at a school or college. I know you need around 5 years experience, but I am unsure about the qualifications and teaching experience side of things. Any information would be much appreciated!
Chaz

Hi Chaz,

I'm a Trainer/Assessor of Beauty Therapy. My number one tip for you would be to stay friendly with your assessors! They actually offered me a job after my level 2, however I wanted to get some Salon experience before I went back. I guess I was just lucky.

The qualifications you need are..

A1 Assessors award, which allows you to assess whether someone is compentant in the field they are training in. You can only assess up to the Level you are qualified too. For example, if you completed your A1's now you could only Assess L2's until you do your L3. This takes about 4-6months to complete.

PTLLS - Stands for Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector.
This is your starting teacher training qualification. You have to do a lot of research into like teaching/learning styles and a micro teach session. I've been teaching for nearly 18months and have just completed this, takes about 10 weeks to complete. You can go on to do your DTLLS (Diploma in Teaching)

I did both of these while I was teaching, if that helps you in anyway..

Hope that helps, any other questions I'll try help you with!

Jo x

Hi,