Total newbie looking for advice

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HannahKate

Reaction score
Hi guys!
I'm about to do a complete nail tech course and I'm soo excited!
Im already quite experienced in basic nails but there are a few things I'm not sure about.
There are a few courses near me, accredited by ABT and BABTEC, is there a preferred accreditor out of those two? What's the difference?
Also, it looks like most courses are £300 - £350 and cover mani pedi, gels, acrylics and gel extensions.
Does that sound about right?
Also, let's just imagine that it all goes well and I end up with a good kit and client base, how do I sort out tax?
I have no space for a beauty room at home so it's either a case of having a small little foldaway table at home that I can pack away or be mobile. Do yo enjoy home or mobile more?
I guess I'm just thinking of the future and hoping it will all be worth it!
Thanks so much for any info, greatly appreciated

Also I've been practising with Blue Sky polish which has worked well for me so far, anyone used this stuff before?

Courses differ in cost depending who you train with. Beware of the online only courses and day courses.

With regards to bluesky I wouldn't recommend, and certainly not on clients.

I'll second not using Bluesky. Also, you shouldn't be practicing before. You'll learn bad habits, which are so very hard to unlearn.

Thankyou
I'm struggling to pick a course, there aren't many near me (I'm in Norwich) and I can't travel far due to childcare etc
There are courses that seem to cram LOADS into 4-5 days and then there are courses that cover one aspect per day, do you think it's best to learn as much as possible in that time or spend more time focussing on less?
Is there a reputable accreditor that I should look for or sway towards in terms of getting qualified?
Thankyou!

Thankyou